Kent State University

Kent State University is a public research university in Kent, Ohio. Its mission is to discover, generate, apply, and share knowledge and promote compassionate and ethical values in providing service to the state of Ohio and the global society. It offers a wide array of academic programs to involve students in a diverse learning atmosphere that fosters critical thinking and gained the necessary knowledge and skills for successful careers and responsible citizenship. The university is known for its award-winning faculty that are committed to inspiring learning and helping students evolve into independent thinkers who make a difference in the world.

Kent State University’s Distance Learning division offers variety of completely online and partially online courses that are delivered in both synchronous and asynchronous format. Online courses are delivered via the WebCT Vista 8/Blackboard course management system. Students are able to communicate with instructors and fellow classmates through threaded discussions, email, and live chat. Online degree programs are offered at the certificate and graduate degree levels in a range of areas including instructional technology, music education, knowledge management, nursing, public administration, journalism and mass communication, Autism Spectrum Intervention Specialist, online learning and teaching, and nonprofit/human service management.

Kent State University was founded in 1910 as Kent Normal School. In 1915, the school changed its name to Kent State Normal College because it added four-year degree programs. The state of Ohio changed the name to Kent State College in 1929 and it gained university status in 1935. The university experienced continuous growth throughout the 1950s and 1960s adding additional buildings and campus locations. In the late 1990s, the university started various renovations and construction. As of 2010, Kent University is the second largest university in Ohio and enrolls over 41,000 students at 8 campuses and online.


The Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools accredits Kent State University.

Schools of Education

College of Architecture and Environmental Design: offers programs in architecture, interior design, urban design, and architectural studies.

College of the Arts: consists of the School of Art, School of Theatre and Dance, The Hugh A. Glauser School of Music, and The Shannon Rodgers and Jerry Silverman School of Fashion Design and Merchandising.

College of the Arts and Sciences: houses the School of Biomedical Sciences and 16 academic departments: history, anthropology, English, biological sciences, chemistry and biochemistry, geology, computer science, philosophy, geography, mathematical sciences, sociology, psychology, political science, physics, modern and classical language studies, and Pan-African studies.

College of Business Administration: consists of the five departments of accounting, finance, economics, management and information systems, and marketing and entrepreneurship.

College of Communication and Information: houses the School of Communication Studies, School of Journalism and Mass Communication, School of Library and Information Science, School of Visual Communication Design.

College of Graduate School of Education, Health and Health Services: home to the School of Health Sciences, School of Foundations, Leadership and Administration, School of Lifespan Development and Educational Sciences, and School of Teaching, Learning, and Curriculum Studies.

School of Digital Sciences: offers bachelor’s degrees, master’s degrees, and minors in the digital sciences fields.

Honors College: offers honors curriculum and courses.

College of Nursing: offers nursing programs at the associate, bachelor’s degree, master’s degree, post-master’s certificate, and doctoral degree levels.

College of Public Health: offers public health programs at the bachelor’s degree, master’s degree, and certificate levels.

Regional College: offers programs at the certificate, associate, and bachelor’s degree levels.

College of Technology: offers over 25 programs at the certificate, associate, bachelor’s, and master’s degree levels.

Scholarships Offered

Kent State University offers a variety of scholarships for incoming freshmen such as the Founders Scholarship, Honors College Scholarship, President’s Grant, Oscar Ritchie Memorial Scholarship, President’s Scholarship, University Award, and Trustee Scholarship.

Financing Options

Kent State University participates in numerous financial aid programs including the Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG), Federal Perkins Loan, Federal Pell Grant, Federal Work-Study, Federal Nursing Loan, Academic Competitiveness Grant (ACG), National Science and Mathematics Access to Retain Talent Grant (SMART), Federal Direct Parent PLUS Loan, Federal Direct PLUS for Graduate Students, Ohio College Opportunity Grant, Teacher Education Assistance for College and Higher Education (TEACH) Grant, Federal Direct Stafford Subsidized Loan, Federal Direct Stafford Unsubsidized Loan, Pennsylvania State Grant, Vermont Incentive Grant, and alternative loans. The university also offers an Installment Payment Plan, Tuition Management Plan, Kent First Payment Program, and Kent Plus Payment Program.

Credit Earning Options

Kent State University grants credits for previous courses completed at another accredited institution of higher learning. All courses must have a grade of a C or better and courses taken at regionally accredited colleges and universities in Ohio after fall semester 2005 must have a grade of a D or better. The university also grants credits for examinations such as the College Level Examination Program (CLEP), Advanced Placement exams, and Credit by Exam (CBE). Students seeking credit are required to submit official transcripts, exam scores, and other supporting information such as course descriptions or college catalogs.